50 Year Project

One of the things I do before traveling to a new country is check out the U. S. Department of State’s website for travel warnings and tips. When preparing for my trip to Guatemala I hopped onto the website and was quite disheartened. Crime was abundant. And I’m talking about violent crime: murder, rape, and armed assault to name a few. The site advised staying in groups especially when hiking some of the volcanoes.

To add to my worries, one of my coworker’s would spend his lunch hour telling me horror stories from his son-in-law who was from Guatemala. One of the stories that stuck was that some criminals would cut off your finger to steal your ring. This made an impression on me.

I’m not sharing this information to scare anyone from traveling. I think it’s important to be informed and aware of possible threats. And I also know…

View original post 281 more words

Leave a Reply

