I love Basquiat

lccat

mack

In 11 years of college education in the liberal arts, not once have I come across the work of Basquiat in any course.  My exposure to Jean-Michel Basquiat came as a result of listening to popular music on the radio.  Macklemore and Jay-Z have current songs mentioning the late, NYC artist, “Ten Thousand Hours” and “Picasso, Baby,” respectively:

From “Ten Thousand Hours”:

See, I observed Escher
I love Basquiat
I watched Keith Haring
You see I study art
The greats weren’t great because at birth they could paint
The greats were great cause they paint a lot

From “Picasso, Baby”:

Sleeping every night next to Mona Lisa
The modern day version
With better features
Yellow Basquiat in my kitchen corner
Go ahead lean on that shit Blue
You own it

Things to consider:

1.  What do you think draws these two hip-hop artists (and actually the list of musical artists…

View original post 75 more words

Leave a Reply

